Professional Writing and Editing: Tools

WordNet® is a large lexical database of English.Nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms expressing a distinct concept.

A visual dictionary/thesaurus using the Wordnet database.Search words to find their meanings and associations with other words and concepts. Produces diagrams similar to a concept map.

Search across multiple dictionaries for definitions and translations. OneLook's reverse dictionary lets you describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept. Your description can be a few words, a sentence, a question, or even just a single word.

YourDictionary is the easiest to use on-line dictionary and thesaurus. Featuring simple, straightforward definitions, along with example use cases for the most popular words. Includes thesauri entries from Roget's II, audio pronunciations, etymology, trending words and more.

Creative writing ideas to create stories, poems and other creative pieces from your imagination. The writing prompts can even help you come up with creative content for blogs and blog stories.

Games, study aids, practice tests, lesson plans and more.

An exhibit of books that have been the objects of censorship or censorship attempts.

An extensive and excitingly diverse collection, from noted British and foreign writers to centuries’ worth of miscellaneous verses, prose works, letters and related materials.

Millions of pages of free content.

A collection of links to sites dealing especially with English and American literature.

The Literature Village Directory features reviews of book-related websites from around the world. The websites have been handpicked by our editorial teams in New York and London for being the best in their respective fields.

A growing collection of Australian online publications, established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996.

A library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.